Delcie’s Desserts

“OHMYGOSH…! UNBELIEVABLE. MMMMMmmmmmhhhhhh. This.is.heavenly.” ย *nom nom*

“Can I have one more piece?” *angelic eyes*

Those were my comments when I first came in contact with Delcie’s desserts in September 2011.

Interestingly, the first item that I tried from Delcie’s Desserts were her mooncakes.

Those who know me understand that I really disliked eating mooncakes. I dislike anything with paste inside them… until I tried Delcie’s mooncakes.

You may ask, how then, did I come into contact with Delcie’s mooncakes when I disliked mooncakes?

It was really ironical. My father was subscribed to Groupon’s mailing list. One day, he informed me about a groupon promotion available on mooncakes from Delcie’s, that is vegan-friendly. He wanted me to head down to Delcie’s Desserts and find out more about the mooncakes.

I was skeptical. How can mooncakes ever taste nice? They are usually too sweet and full of paste.

That day, I decided to make a trip down to Delcie’s Desserts. At that time, Delcie’s was located at North Bridge Road. I was lucky to have met Delcie on my first trip and she was so welcoming, inviting me to try her mooncakes.

That was it. Delcie and me hit it off so well, we stayed in contact even after that brief conversation.

That’s me and Delcie at her new walk-in bakery located at 951 Upper Serangoon, Singapore 534714 ( just a mere 3 mins walk from Kovan MRT). Delcie’s Desserts officially opened onย 10 Nov 2011. According to Delcie, there was anย overwhelmingย huge reception that day.

Being a vegan in Singapore that has a sweet tooth, it is very difficult to find vegan desserts that taste like the “real” thing.

As such, I decided that I must spread and share the most AWESOME, DELICIOUS tasting vegan-friendly, diabetic-friendly, and most importantly, GUILT-FREE desserts and cakes.

TADA! Below is the selection of cakes and desserts that I tried from Delcie’s Desserts.

Clockwise, starting from the slice of cake at the topmost left corner: Chocolatenana cake (S$7.80/slice), Banana Choc Dessert, Gluten & Soy Free (S$6), Mud Fudge cake, Diabetic-friendly (S$7.80/slice), Gluten Free Biscotti: White Choc+Almond+Cranberry (S$4), Gluten Free Mini Choc Cake (S$3.80), Molten Choc Cupcake, Diabetic-friendly (S$6.80) and Brownie: Cranberry or Walnut (S$3.20).

Me: “Far exceeds (my) expectations!”

I was telling Delcie that even when I was as a vegetarian, I have never liked creamy cakes as they are just too… creamy. I especially disliked those with a large amount of white cream on them, always removing the cream. Surprisingly, only chocolate mousse cream was alright for my palate. Delcie told me that she makes her own cream using her own formula which she came up with.

So, I decided to give it a go, to see if Delcie was able to win me over with her cream formulation.

And she did.

The cream did not taste too creamy. In fact, everything above that Delcie specially chose for me to try are really really delicious. Too delicious in fact, for me to believe that they are vegan-friendly, even though I do know that they are vegan.

No one has ever come close to impressing me with suchย unbelievably-tasting vegan dessert. What’s more, both the Mud Fudge cake and Molten Choc Cupcake are diabetic-friendly, but yet they are my favorites even though I have a sweet tooth.

Lastly, as many of you know, Chinese New Year is approaching. Delcie’s has a whole range of CNY goodies for us vegans and everyone else who wants to enjoy CNY 2012 without feeling guilty.

Above is the range of CNY vegan goodies (egg-free and dairy-free) that Delcie’s has prepared for us to enjoy.

Left-hand side, clockwise:ย Hazelnut Cookie 50 pieces,ย Cashew Cookie 50 pieces,ย Green Peas Cookie 50 pieces,ย White Almond Cookie 50 pieces (all retailing at S$28.80).
Right-hand side:ย Golden Pineapple Tart 44 pieces (S$30.80) andย Golden Pineapple Balls 44pieces (S$32.80).

I was again blown away by how “original” the vegan pineapple balls tasted. Even without eggs and dairy, Delcie made the pineapple ball’s texture so smooth that I cannot believe that it is in fact, vegan. The amount of pineapple in the ball is just right, and the sweetness is just nice. I could not resist getting a tub of Golden Pineapple Balls for my family.

As a way of expressing my heartfelt thanks to my readers, I have 5 Delcie’s Desserts cash vouchers worth S$5 up for grabs. To win, simply follow sgvegan.wordpress.com by typing your email address and clicking on the button “I want to follow!” at the top right of the page.

Note: Competition ends 13th January 2012 2359hrs. All winners will be notified by email and must respond within 3 days, otherwise a draw will be conducted again for void winners.ย 

13 thoughts on “Delcie’s Desserts

    1. Hi Natalie, the Banana Choc Dessert cup is gluten-free. Maybe you need to inquire about it as Delcie usually carries them in her fridge, unless they happen to be sold out that day. Do try it, its really delicious. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Cheers,
      Amanda

      Like

  1. Thank you for another great post. Where else could anybody get that type of info in such a perfect way of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such info.

    Like

  2. Thank you so much for the voucher! I bought Mud Fudge from Delcie’s last week and my family and i really enjoyed it so so much! Looking forward to more posts on vegan/ vegetarian eating places! =D

    Like

Leave a Reply

