Meat is Murder (And 5 Reasons Why I Love The Charming Man, Morrissey)

Written by: Kat, SGVeganGrrrls

Whoakay, so I can’t still get over the fact that I saw Morrissey perform live here in Singapore. It was a whirlwind, I know. I’ve waited for that performance since I was in 4th grade, the first time that I heard his song The More You Ignore Me, The Closer I Get. So now, it’s safe to say that I have a penchant for sarcastic lyrics and Oscar Wilde-esque compositions. Nothing makes me happier but 80’s music – new wave, post-punk, goth, name it – I love it! I have a tons of rock artists on my list but he definitely stands out. Growing up as an awkward teenager, his songs spoke to me because it resonate what exactly I am going through not only in school, but also in the society. It’s hard enough being a vegetarian in Manila when you’re 14 and it’s even harder when you’re this introvert, geeky girl. I remember writing “I am human and I need to be loved, just like everybody else does”, which was taken on The Smith‘s How Soon Is Now single, on my prom invite because no one wants to dance with me – and that I wasn’t really attractive, just like The Breakfast Club‘s basket case. Anyway, here are 5 reasons why I love Morrissey:

1. His music defines my life.

 

Nothing magnetizes me to an artist but astounding lyrics. Top 40 music is not really my type because there’s no intricacy in writing their lyrics. As I’ve said, I was quite an oddball growing up so his songs pretty much sums up what I went through back in high school. I never liked mainstream music which explains why I spent most of my teenage days beside my window, reading Oscar Wilde or writing about my teenage angst since my parents were quite strict and didn’t allow me to go out and be a normal teenager. I still think that it was pretty awesome though because at least, I wasn’t part of my generation’s cookie cutter world.

2. He is opinionated.

Ah, there’s nothing more fascinating as an artist who is out there and willing to provoke thoughts. And in that sense, he was very honest and provocative when speaking with the press. Not to mention, a controversy magnet. He even called Madonna as “fraudulent and exact opposite of erotic.” And I completely agree with him because popstars nowadays can’t leave their houses without flamboyant outfits and auto-tuning. Enough said.

3. He supports animal rights!

Yay! 500 points for Gryffindor ‘er Moz! Several days ago before he went to Manila, Morrissey fired off a letter to PNoy asking him to free Mali, the lone elephant in the Manila Zoo. In his letter, he said “Mali is cruelly denied stimulation, room to explore, and everything else that is natural and important to her.” He also added “She circles her little patch of concrete, tracing the same route again and again and again. This kind of obsessive, repetitive behavior—known as ‘zoochosis’—suggests that Mali is in danger of going insane, so time is of the essence.” As of press time, the Manila President’s office declined Morrissey’s letter, which is sad for people like us who think that animals should be set free in their own habitat. Here’s a TV interview that I did a couple of years ago about Mali, the Elephant (it’s in Filipino but basically, it’s about the suffering that animals are going through in zoos)

4. He loves Singapore!

 

Yes, you’ve heard it right. He loves Singapore! Videos speak louder than words, so here you go.

5. Last but not the least, HE IS A VEGGIE ICON

How cool is that? Having a common ground with one of my favorite artists? And it only gets better. With a song named Meat Is Murder you know that nothing will ever go wrong. A lot of people in the concert said that the song inspired them to kick the meat habit – I understand why. He sings Meat Is Murder while Meet Your Meat plays in the background. He once said “We all live in a murderous world, as the events in Norway have shown, with 97 dead. Though that is nothing compared to what happens in McDonald’s and Kentucky Fried sh*t every day.” Now that is the perfect man. There you have it folks. I hope you enjoyed this post as much as I did. Photos are below.

Leave a Reply

