Amanda’s Homemade Sugar Scrub

Most of the time, when we want to exfoliate the dead skin on our bodies, we turn to salt scrubs.

Dead sea salt scrub, sea salt scrubs…

How about a sugar scrub?

In fact, sugar scrubs are much better than salt scrubs.

Why?

Sugar being easier to dissolve, does not exfoliate the skin as hard as salt. So using a sugar scrub is suitable even for people with sensitive skin condition! 🙂

Introducing my very own homemade, DIY Sugar Scrub!

Over the past 3 weeks, I have been experimenting with 3 sugar scrub batches that I made personally in my own kitchen.

Making the scrub is really easy, all it requires is simply just 15-30 minutes and you get a scrub that can last you for a really long time.

As I was still in the midst of experimenting, I decided to share portions of my sugar scrub with my close friends to get some feedback.

First of all, I would like to state that it was mainly Lush’s sugar scrub that inspired me to embark on making my own sugar scrub.

Introducing the ingredients of my very own homemade sugar scrub:

The tablespoon contains:

Why did I add this in?

Sunflower oil acts as a moisturiser so that the sugar scrub exfoliates while moisturising the skin.

In addition, sunflower oil has a calming effect on the skin which is highly recommended for people with sensitive skin conditions and heals the skin. It contains Vitamin E, which has anti-aging properties making skin look young!

Thus, Amanda’s homemade sugar scrub contains:

* 1 cup raw organic brown sugar
* some old ginger (any type of ginger & amount as you wish)
* 1 tablespoon organic cold-pressed sunflower oil
* 1 tablespoon secret ingredient

Besides using the organic raw brown sugar as base of the sugar scrub, the main ingredient is the old ginger.

Ginger was used mainly due to its anti-cellulite properties.

As I did not want to use chemical means to remove cellulite from certain *troublesome* areas on my body, I discovered that ginger is a natural well-known herb for combating cellulite.

How does ginger do it?

Apparently ginger promotes oxygen flow around the body. Cellulite builds up when cells become sluggish, degrading over time. When oxygen gets to the cellulite, the cells are able to function more effectively and efficiently. And, ginger will ensure that the optimal amount of oxygen will get to the cellulite.

Another plus point of using ginger is due to its ability to remove the toxins from the body. If I am not wrong, the skin tone is improved due to its antioxidant inhibiting the harmful free radicals that causes skin damage and aging.

Thus, by using ginger, it burns fat and removes toxins! 🙂

What a powerful simple ingredient!!

So how did I prepare my sugar scrub?

Firstly, I grated the old ginger using the grater as shown in the picture above (it is fine to use any type of ginger) and mixed it with the tablespoon of organic cold-pressed sunflower oil. If you have a blender, feel free to simply blend the ginger.

At this point, I mixed in the secret ingredient! *Note: this picture below was for 2 cups of sugar scrub instead*

Next is to add in the cup of organic raw brown sugar and mix!

Notice the chunks within the sugar?

Make sure to continue mixing it well, until you get this consistency:

Of course, what does the homemade sugar scrub look like when its used?

Do you see there are some soap studs? It is all due to the secret ingredient, that contains both fresh and natural ingredients, so you can rest assure that your skin will feel good! 😀

So far, from the feedback I have gathered, this sugar scrub is well-loved.

Does any one wants to make a guess what is the secret ingredient? Do leave a comment below and who knows, you might win yourself Amanda’s homemade sugar scrub! 🙂

Do subscribe to SGVegan with your email at the top right corner of the page. I will be updating the identity of the secret ingredient soon so you can make your own sugar scrub. Stay tuned!

Author: amandateng

I blog about Healthy Living in Singapore.

9 thoughts on “Amanda’s Homemade Sugar Scrub”

  1. I LOVE your scrub! And that you handmade it lovingly with wonderful, natural ingredients made me feel so pampered… I enjoyed the natural, refreshing smell and the smooth afterfeel on my skin. Thank you Amanda 🙂

    Like

  2. Yoz Manda,

    Thanks for sharing your homemade sugar scrub with me! 😀

    Had a wonderful time smelling like brown sugar with the hope that all the ginger- goodness is absorbed by my ‘temperamental’ skin. The after-feel makes my skin feel moisturize while on the other hand, the sugar could be a little finer to have a gentler scrubbing feel on the body, is just a suggestion though.

    Very much looking forward to your next creation!

    Ciao,
    Viv

    Like

    1. Hello Vivien,

      Thank you for your sincere feedback! I’ll take note of the roughness of the sugar and make the sugar less rough for your delicate skin. 😀

      I look forward to hearing more of your sincere thoughts so that I can improve on my creations in the future!

      Cheers,
      Amanda

      Like

  3. Hey Amanda!!

    Thank you for the specially homemade sugar scrub for me!! :))

    It was fantastic on my skin~ (plus i’m having terrible time with my face right now!! >_< it will show a better result on stressed up skin complex right? :P) I love the near-perfected texture of the scrub on my skin, not too rough nor gentle. It's really true how Amanda had mentioned about why sugar scrub is better than the salt scrub. ^_^ In fact, I have recently been using dead sea salt scrub on my body, hence, i could feel the great difference of the sugar & salt scrub. 🙂

    This is jus my first attempt of using this precious scrub!! maybe my facial skin is gonna glow after i finish using all the sugar scrub which you have provided me with!! 😛 Will that happen, Amanda? *nudge nudge~*

    Many thanks to you!! ❤

    Like

    1. Hello simplyveganism,

      Thanks for your positive feedback! I’m sure it will help your face lots. Just remember not to use too much on your face as the face is generally more sensitive than the body. Give the scrub a go for your body also, and let me know how it goes! 🙂

      Cheers,
      Amanda

      Like

Leave a Reply

