[World Vegetarian Day] and an introspective look into life

This life is as impermanent as a water bubble, remember how quickly it decays and death comes.” – Lama Tsongkhapa, The Foundation of All Good Qualities

—–

Its been a long while since I’ve last blogged.

Life as a graduate student has been really hectic for the past few 2.5 months. I apologise sincerely for the lack of blog posts on my end. If you do have any queries, please feel free to drop me an email. 🙂

Now, what finally got me to blog at this hour?

The past 2.5 months have been a roller coaster ride of experiences (and emotions) for myself.

I’ve used the most amount of brain juice ever in my life and, at the *ripe* old age of 24, have encountered 2 sudden deaths from my circle of friends. One of whom is my age.

As I am typing this, many many thoughts are flying through my mind.

Life is really funny.

Looking back, it seems like life is there just for a fleeting moment, yet the majority of us live our lives as if we are permanently existing.

Well, take myself, for instance. Ever since I started on my graduate studies, my first priority has been lab. Lab, lab, lab. Trying to dust those cobwebs that accumulated in my brain for the past 1 year. Head to lab early, head back home late.

I’ve been struggling to maintain a work-life balance. I’ve yet to come to a balance point, but I am still striving to achieve it!

아자 아자 화이팅! Q(^_^Q)

Anyway!

Amidst the hectic-ness of life, I’m glad to have been able to support the organising of a recent World Vegetarian Day 2012 on 01 October. Needless to say, this is one of the highlights of my veg*an journey.

October is the Vegetarian Awareness Month – to inform the public about the health benefits of a vegetarian diet, the saving of animals’ lives and preservation of our Mother Earth.

Together with Ms Zenna Ho of Eight Treasures Vegetarian Restaurant, the Vegan Topic team, consisting of Carol, Jeffrey, Bala, Katrina and myself, organised this humble event.

This event would not have been successful without the support from Dr George Jacobs (President of Vegetarian Society Singapore), Ms Delcie Lam (Delcie’s Desserts and Cakes), Ms Chan Shiao Chew (Lee Kum Kee), Mr Anson Loh (Highlanders) and Ms Peggy Ong.

And lastly, I would love to share this video with you. It was screened during the event. Please, give yourself just 15 minutes to go through this video to the end. I would appreciate that. 🙂

 

I hope the video was impactful to you, like it was for me. Watching the part on the male chicks being grinded up alive woke me up to the reality that even a vegetarian diet is harmful – both to us and the animals. Thank you. x

Author: amandateng

I blog about Healthy Living in Singapore.

6 thoughts on “[World Vegetarian Day] and an introspective look into life”

Leave a Reply

