Happy 2013 and let’s start the new year with a good cause!

Hello to all SGVegan readers!

I would like to say a huge thank you to all of you for your support for a healthier lifestyle alternative through this blog. I know not all of you here are vegans or vegetarians but I feel so blessed to have you here on the blog, subscribing to any updates that I post.

SGVegan_Thankyou_2013

To those who are subscribed to my blog (through email or WordPress), I would like to take this opportunity to thank you from the bottom of my heart. A huge apology for the lack of posts on my end for the last quarter of 2012 – its been a hectic personal journey during this period. I am looking forward to posting and sharing more with you on my recent trip to Nepal…coming up! 🙂

In the meantime, I would like to draw your attention to a good cause that is happening this Saturday (tomorrow), 12 Jan 2013 at Fortune Centre, organised by Delcie’s Desserts and Cakes.

Soft Launch Poster-01

As some of you may know already, Delcie’s is having a soft launch opening of her new flagship branch outlet tomorrow 11am-6pm in town (see poster above). Proceeds from all in-store sales will be fully donated to these 2 charities (below) as Delcie’s way of expressing thanks for all the blessings she has received.

  1. Kwan Im Thong Hood Cho Temple
  2. Sri Krishnan Temple (Waterloo Street)

Let me share my humble opinion of Delcie’s Chinese New Year cookies. I have always been a very picky eater of Chinese New Year (CNY) cookies, especially pineapple tarts even when I was a vegetarian. I remember when I was young, I would remove the pineapple and just have the base, which is the tart. My parents would chide me for my lack of manners as it was “not nice” and polite to throw away the pineapple which, in their opinion, is the essence of the pineapple tart. I guess you could say I was a precocious child… pineapple tart without the pineapple. Haha, how embarrassing.

Anyway, all these changed the moment I stepped into Delcie’s and tried their CNY cookies. Ohmygosh, I was hooked!!

I ate every single item, fell in love with them, made orders, and ever since, been a long-time customer. What caused the change?

Well, it is definitely the taste. While the Pineapple tarts/balls are diabetic friendly also (hooray!), they are definitely not lacking in taste/flavor. A single sitting…and I can polish off a full tub of 42 pieces. With huge perseverance… I usually just polish off half a tub, so that I have enough for the next sitting. Trust me, it takes mountains of willpower. Unlike the usual ones outside, one does not get sick and tired of Delcie’s CNY cookies. My favorite ones are Delcie’s Pineapple Balls (Vegan) and Melting White Almond.

*Pics from Delcie’s*

Picture-4Boy-and-Almond-CookieLOW-copy

So…why not take this opportunity to head down to Fortune Centre tomorrow and sample some of her awesome CNY cookies? 🙂

Remember… a new year… a new beginning… new resolutions… so let’s have our new year cookies while supporting a good cause!

(P.S.: Eating these CNY cookies do not make you gain weight unlike the others, haha!)

See you there. 🙂

7 thoughts on “Happy 2013 and let’s start the new year with a good cause!

  1. We found your blog in the process of going vegan finally. And your posts really inspires me. Delcie’s food has been all around the net and I know they are now at fortune center. Cant wait to try it. Do you know of any vegan cooking or baking classes?

    We’ve also started documenting our vegan journey. Would love to get you to be a contributor:)

    Cheers,
    Roland & Priscilla
    http://mrandmrsvegan.wordpress.com/

    Like

    1. Hello there Roland and Priscilla,

      thanks for dropping by and sharing your kind comments. Its great you came by Delcie’s, hope you’ve tried her stuff. With regard to vegan cooking and baking classes, the VSS (Vegetarian Society Singapore) do mention them in their newsletters. Delcie also does conduct baking classes too, you can check with her directly too.

      I dropped by your blog, and love the blog entries you’ve recently posted. It would be great to be a contributor for your blog too, thanks for asking. Please feel free to contact me at sgvegan.wordpress@gmail.com 🙂

      Cheers,
      Amanda

      Like

  2. Dont you ever think it’s too costly there? For pineapple tart, 28.8/tub that is 3 times as high as the normal pineapple tart sold in Sheng Siong. I am not gonna buy that even though it is vegan.

    Like

    1. Hello Yongqiang,

      Thank you for your feedback, both here and on Facebook.

      As mentioned, upon reading about your feedback, I went to NTUC to check out the prices. Imagine my shock when I saw they were selling at S$8+ (below $10) for a tub. I simply cannot imagine the quality of the ingredients that went into the making of those CNY cookies.

      (P.S.: I heard that Sheng Siong quality is even worse than NTUC. Personally, I feel that it is not appropriate to compare supermarket quality CNY cookies with CNY cookies with handmade CNY cookies, they are of a different grade/category altogether.)

      Anyway, I have just recently discovered a batch of vegan CNY cookies. And, SGVegan has specially teamed up with the place that makes the handmade CNY cookies using natural ingredients at a very special deal for SGVegan readers. Do keep a lookout for the upcoming post! 🙂

      Thank you for your kind comments.

      Cheers,
      Amanda

      Like

  3. Normally I do not learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do it! Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, quite great post.

    Like

Leave a Reply

