Removing sugar from my diet the GlucosCare® way

Since I’ve returned from my most recent trip from Sydney, my close friends would know that I have adopted a more stringent diet.

The reason why I adopted this stringent diet is because I went for a colonic irrigation. In fact, I had 2 sessions of colonic irrigation done in a span of 5 days. I was blessed that the last colonic irrigation I had done was by Anna, who is a very experienced Colon Therapist veteran.

During the course of my colonic, Anna initiated a chat over my diet, my blood type and dished out some crucial information suitable for me regarding the types of food I should avoid, and the types of food I should adopt within my diet. Thanks to her chiding, and a change in my mindset (I want to have a healthier diet!), I decided to take the plunge to give this diet a shot. I thought: “Since my colon is cleaner now, I might as well do my best keep it that way!”

Amongst the list of things that Anna mentioned, what struck me the most was removing sugar from my diet. This was not an easy task for me. Previously, I tried to cut down on sugar as I knew sugar was the main cause of weight gain and tooth decay. It was only after the chat with Anna that I learnt some new facts:

  • Sugar that reaches the large intestine may ferment, causing discomfort and pain.
  • Sugar causes constipation.
  • Sugar is a risk factor in cancer of the small intestine.
  • Sugar can suppress your immune system.
  • Regular excess of sugar over time will result in clogging up blood vessels and subsequently cause diabetes.

The list goes on and on, however, I’ll just include this photo taken from a Sugar & Fructose Guide by Stefan Mager which I bought from Go Vita, a health food store in Katoomba (Blue Mountains).

30 ways sugar can impact on health_SGVegan

However, it was not easy to avoid obvious sources of sugar as they are present even in herbal drinks and are added into food that are available outside such as green bean soup. Hence it was to my pleasant surprise (1 month back) when I opened my email to see that Pin Pin contacted me to blog about 2 products that are suitable for vegetarians.

Initially I was a bit apprehensive until I read the description about GlucosCare® Tea – it was exactly what I was needed to cut down on the excess sugar that I may have consumed on certain days.

Just a bit of background:

GlucosCare® Tea is a 100% natural herbal tea that has been in the market for more than 15 years (! – wow, I didn’t know that fact). It is scientifically formulated from 2 botanical herb plants – Gymnema Sylvestre (60%) and Camellia Sinensis (40%). The latter is commonly known to us as chinese green tea, added for its antioxidant benefits in cell and tissue maintenance. Now, the former, (Indian) Gymnema Sylvestre, is literally known as “sugar blocker” in Sanskrit, is a herb that is native to the tropical forests of Southern and Central India and Sri Lanka.

GlucosCare® Tea_SGVegan_Teabag

So, how does GlucosCare® Tea work?

GlucosCare® Tea_SGVegan_How it works

As seen from the photo, the green ovals are GlucosCare® tea molecules, pink ovals are Glucose molecules and the brown base (look harder, not that easy to spot right away) are the sugar receptors in our gastro intestinal track. Since both GlucosCare® tea molecules, and glucose molecules have similar molecular structures, the GlucosCare® tea molecules blocks some of the sugar receptors, thus allowing the body not to fully absorb all the glucose.

It is particularly good for people with diabetes! And weight and health conscious consumers (I fall in the latter category).

Why is this good?

In our modern diet, there are lots of hidden sugar within our food. Especially when we eat out. Particularly, starchy food such as potatoes, bread, pasta and rice are carbohydrates. Our digestive system changes carbohydrates to glucose (blood sugar)  which is used as energy for our cells, tissue and organs. However, any extra sugar is stored in the liver (fatty liver!) and muscles for any future needs. For the majority of us who are fortunate to have enough to eat, this extra sugar is never used up, resulting in an increase in weight.

Anyway, I decided to try this tea out. Being in a teabag form, I find that it is very convenient for me to bring it about with me as I travel. It is light, but yet is a safe and effective natural product that I enjoyed drinking.

It tastes really good, like a normal tea. And the best thing is, I get to cut down on my sugar intake!! (Another plus point is that I get more energized during the days I drink the tea, increasing my productivity!)

With my healthier diet, regular exercise (Zumba twice a week, occasional (hot) yoga sessions) and 1x GlucosCare® Tea per day (after meals), after less than 1 month, I unknowingly shed about 1 – 2kg off my weight! 🙂 (not like I needed to lose weight, haha)

GlucosCare® has won the Singapore Brand Prestige Award under the Regional Brands category in 2011, so you can rest assure that this is a good brand. They are available on Facebook too, so you can “like” them to receive healthy updates!

GlucosCare® have also conducted clinical tests done in China, India and Bangladesh (as mentioned in a video by Mr Joe Fam, the founder of GlucosCare International Pte Ltd, featured on Channel News Asia’s Branded for Success) and currently in Singapore and Serbia.

GlucosCare® is available at Guardian, Watsons, Unity, selected FairPrice, OG, Mustafa, National Health Group polyclinics & selected Chinese Medical Halls.

P.S.: I found the 60 tea bags pack with promotion of 25% extra tea bags ( = 15 tea bags!) retailing at NTUC Fairprice Pasir Ris below:

GlucosCare® Tea_SGVegan

And… at NTUC (Fairprice Finest) Xtra Jurong Point:

GlucosCare®_SGVegan_NTUC_Jurong Point

If however, you are busy and would like to order it online and get it sent to you, it is available on the online platform, www.imart.com.sg

Delivery is free for orders above $50 and GlucosCare® Tea is going for… S$66.50/2 boxes of 60! So its very worth it.

Not all the products are suitable for vegetarians, however, the Spirulina Soy is vegetarian!

…to be introduced in a later post! 🙂

Author: amandateng

I blog about Healthy Living in Singapore.

8 thoughts on “Removing sugar from my diet the GlucosCare® way”

  1. Sugar is what your cells need and go for first for energy. It is not the enemy. Fat is the problem. If your blood is clogged with fat, the cells can’t absorb the sugar and that’s when problems like diabetes etc arises, not to mention the other problems that high fat causes. The ideal source are fruits. Complex carbs are next, but only if you can’t get enough from fruits. If your diet is high fat (and there is plenty of ‘hidden’ fat nowadays especially in gourmet vegan and most vegetarian food around, and even what passes off as raw vegan cuisine). Check out the work of Dr Douglas Graham, Dr Neal Barnard, Dr John McDougall etc.

    Like

    1. Dear ken,

      Thank you for sharing with me your thoughts. I am not sure if you have heard but actually, but there has been much research showing that the the cause of obesity (fat) and obesity-related diseases is sugar. I am sure you can dig out academic research papers, e.g. Nature, 2012 Impact Factor (released on June 19, 2013) 38.597. For example, there is a paper (Public health: The toxic truth about sugar) published just recently last year Feb 2012: Lustig, R. H., Schmidt, L. A. and Brindis, C. D. Nature, 428, 27-29. Should you require the pdf file of this research paper, please feel free to drop me an email and I can send it to you.

      Cheers,
      Amanda

      Like

      1. The cause of obesity is eating too much fat. Why are there tons of obese Americans? Oh, because they eat potatoes, pizzas, donuts, ice cream etc and they’ve sugar and fat yes? Look again – the potatoes are covered with cream (dairy fat), the pizzas are covered with cheese and oil (fat fat fat), donuts are filled with cream, bathed in oil (fat fat fat), ice cream (dairy fat). Fat is much denser in calories and if you eat fat, you store fat. Sure, they drink loads of coke and sugary drinks – but those don’t make you OBESE, those will cause inflammation because they are filled with other chemicals. Look at the raw fruit and vegetable community – they eat tons of sugar/carbs but they’re slim, trim and fit. Look at Lustig – oh – toxic truth about sugar – look at him – fat. Must be all that sugar huh? A lot of these ‘research’ papers are funded. Rely on results (high carb low fat raw fruits and vegetables), not theories. If you eat high fat, it will coat your cells and prevent the absorption of sugar, leading to problems like diabetes and obesity, but is the problem sugar? No, it’s the high fat. Again, you might really want to check out the work of John McDougall, Neal Barnard and Douglas Graham – all three have shown (and not just ‘research papers’) that carbs/sugar isn’t the problem but has in fact been demonised by the dairy and meat industry (who sponsor tons of those ‘research papers’). They live the lifestyle and look the part, don’t sell you supplements, only showing the natural whole foods you should eat if you really want to lose weight and be healthy (and cure diabetes, heart disease, obesity etc). Check out Dr Caldwell Esselstyn too.

        Like

      2. Dear Ken,

        Thank you for your comment. While I appreciate your sharing of authors and natural whole foods, the food examples you have quoted that are high in fat are processed food as compared to the natural whole foods. There are other foods that are high in fats, such as those from avocados. However, avocados are high in the other kind of fats, the good fat, the healthy kind, known as monounsaturated fats. Also, I agree with you that research papers published can be sponsored by the major diary/meat industry players. However, please refrain from personal attacks on the authors with whom their research you disagree with.

        Cheers,
        Amanda

        Like

  2. Great job on obtaining one of the most superior blogs Ive arrive over in some period! Its just incredible precisely how very much it is possible to take away coming from anything as a result of how creatively beautiful it’s. Youve placed with each other an excellent weblog room -great graphics, videos, layout. This really is absolutely a new must-see weblog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

