Hi everybody!

Sorry I’ve been away from blogging for a while now. Been caught up with work and life…I’m not going to come up with excuses for the lack of posts since mid-Feb. I will, compensate by sharing with you all an exclusive discount for a vegan Nutella-like spread on The Fitness Grocer.

The Fitness Grocer is an online retailer based in Singapore, started by student athletes who are now taking the business full stream onwards, with the dream to ensure that active and busy people have a convenient, healthy and nutritional source of ready-to-eat food and snacks.

I had previously tried their Vegan Subway-like cookies, that are packed full of protein. Known as The Complete Cookie® under Lenny and Larry’s brand. I was told that The Fitness Grocer is the first in Singapore to retail this cookies range. So why not ditch the Subway cookie and get this delicious huge all-natural cookie instead? Suitable for everybody and not just vegans.

Lenny and Larry_The Complete Cookie Info

 *Psssst. I just checked their website and there is special deal if you buy a box of it. My personal favourites are: Double Chocolate, Pumpkin and Oatmeal Raisin!*

Now the main purpose of this post is to share about The Fitness Grocer’s latest offerings, which, if you are already following me on Instagram (check out my latest Instagram posts featuring my baking conquests on the top right column of the page) and Facebook, you would have been aware that I announced the news about the vegan Nutella-like spread in early February. So for the latest happenings, do follow me on Instagram and/or Facebook!

Back to the vegan Nutella-like spread, why do I call it Nutella-like? It is known officially as the Go Lo Dark Hazelnut Spread.

Well, because, at first taste, after having not eaten Nutella for many years (at least 6 years since I went vegan), it reminds me of Nutella, so much. I went to heaven there with every bite. However, if I just eat it out of the bottle (not kept in the fridge), I feel as if there is an oily texture as the spread is quite watery. I made sure I kept it in the fridge, although the bottle said not keep refrigerated for the best taste. But do note that if left out in the open on warm toasted bread, the spread does turn watery. I ensured that I ate it all up immediately right after spreading it on my bread. Yum.

The Go Lo Dark Hazelnut Spread is unlike the creamy-ness of Nutella but yet its still Nutella-like in the taste. Hence my mind remembers it as the vegan Nutella-like spread. A plus point is that the Go Lo Dark Hazelnut Spread is so much healthier, because its SUGAR FREE! ohmygosh.

And how much sugar is there in Nutella? Here’s a visual comparison:

SGVegan_Chocolate Spreads Sugar Comparison Visual

As seen, the Go Lo Dark Hazelnut Spread is so much healthier, especially in terms of the sugar level. No cows are hurt in the process too. Woohoo!

A look at the ingredients explains how the sweetness is achieved with Pure Joy added in the ingredients! 😀

SGVegan_Go Lo Ingredients
SGVegan_Go Lo Ingredients List

As you can see, the other spread from the Go Lo Foods brand that I sampled is the Go Lo Almond Butter.

Initial taste-wise, I was not as drawn to the Go Lo Almond Butter as compared to their Dark Hazelnut Spread initially simply because it tasted different. Like the kind of I-am-not-used-to-this-taste kind of weirdness. But as time went by, I found myself preferring the Go Lo Almond Butter over the Dark Hazelnut Spread.

Well, I must admit I didn’t know what Go Lo Foods meant on the bottle “60% more protein than JUSTIN’S”, since the first brand that popped in my mind is the Skippy brand! Haha, I know its so irrelevant as Skippy is a peanut butter spread, and not an Almond Spread. Ohmans.

But anyway, the Go Lo Almond Butter contains pea and hemp proteins in them. And its so good I must say. The taste and texture of it once spread on bread is heavenly. So smooth. It has come to be my long time favourite out of the two.

For more variety, I spread each slice of my toasted bread with the Go Lo Dark Hazelnut Spread and the Go Lo Almond Butter. Then I paste the slices (one Dark Hazelnut, one Almond Butter) together. Super yum max.

SGVegan_Go Lo
SGVegan_Go Lo

The Go Lo Dark Hazelnut Spread is currently retailing at S$16.90 on The Fitness Grocer while the Go Lo Almond Butter is currently retailing at S$18.90. If you get both in a Go Lo Bundle, its only S$34.90!

So here’s the special deal I mentioned right at the beginning. Simply type in the code “AMANDAGOLO” when checking out. SGVegan readers get to enjoy an exclusive 10% discount 🙂

Do click on any of the links to get to The Fitness Grocer website. The code is valid till end April, so that means not many days left! 🙂

4 thoughts on “[The Fitness Grocer] GoLo with the Go Lo Spreads

  1. Back at the start when I used to order the Quest protein bars from Fitness Grocer, delivery was prompt and stuck to a timeslot and product was good. Nowadays, don’t even know what time deliveryman will come, as if they are trying to save money and use some budget courier company. My latest Strawberry Pie protein bar order came in a torn open Cookies and Cream box with the Strawberry Pie bars stuffed in them and one piece of paper taped on the box reading ‘Strawberry Pie’. Best part, in the same order, some of the Chocolate Peanut Butter bars were actually OPEN, with dead insects in them. I will never use this website again. Bye Bye.

    Like

    1. Hi Pete, please contact The Fitness Grocer directly. I am sorry that you had a bad experience and I hope that you understand that I have only covered this as a review. Best regards, Amanda

      Like

  2. I am looking for a low carb option to use a fuel for running a half marathon, many reviews suggest almond butter as an alternative to high carb sports gels. What are your thoughts?

    Like

    1. Hi Tarra,

      I’m so sorry but I don’t think I will be the right person to advice you on this. Do go to The Fitness Grocer’s Facebook page and ask them this! 🙂

      Cheers
      Amanda

      Like

Leave a Reply

